Page 29 of 29

Re: [Oct. 20, 2013][ROM][JB][4.2.2][720p] NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.1.3 V2.7 [Kernel: tytung_jellybean_r2]

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:53 am
by kevblack
NYLimited wrote:

I have not personally seen the fatal hit error and any possible fix or resolution for it is uncertain so I too would be careful. The best results I have seen people talk about (in order fix it) claimed in this thread but be careful, nonetheless.


That was the thread I used (after some desperate searching!) and I was pleased and slightly amazed when it worked....however I think we agree it does not always work and it maybe that my NAND is getting dodgy, so repartitioning for data on ext....a worry....so not yet.

NYLimited wrote:
As for the lag - kep in mind that software (apps) is getting bigger and more demanding of hardware and memory while the HD2 is somewhat dated and limited with the 400 or so MB of RAM. Splitting the load by using DataOnEXT can help. More aggressive min free settings, changes to your card's FAT32 sector size and read buffer can also make a difference.

If you cannot try DataOnEXT I would certainly consider a Class 10 card with an EXT4 partition and aggressive min free settings. Also, make sure you have as few apps loading / starting up as you must have since they all take memory from other things.


[/quote]

I have also used a class 10 card but that seemed that same - so I went to class 6, as I could not find a class 10 that was not UHS1 which was not recommended (the class 10 I used was obviously also UHS1)

I've now used setminfree app and set to "aggressive", I've also set max background to "no more than 2". I still feel I'm stumbing around randomly, I've looked for but not found any "guide" to tuning to put some structure on this and know when I am at "the best it can be".....I want to see how good I can get it as frankly at the moment I suspect the best user experience is to go back to Gingerbread which upsets me as an official geek :-)

Thanks

K

Re: Q&A and Troubleshooting for "NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.2"

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:04 pm
by e_m_e2000
Hiii
i flashed the rom and didn't enable softkeys, after that i flashed softkeys switcher(extra download) from recovery, but i can't see it on my screen !!!

how can i enable or disable softkeys ?

Re: Q&A and Troubleshooting for "NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.2"

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:53 pm
by soren
You can reflash the ROM.

Re: Q&A and Troubleshooting for "NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.2"

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 4:57 pm
by jdl
Hello,
Congratulations to the author for his outstanding work!
I'm using this ROM for some months (EU HD2, 32GB Sandisk Class 4, NativeSD with HARET), I customised settings enough to be satisfied with the overall performance. The ROM is almost excellent with few small drawbacks.

I understand that >12fps video recording will probably not happen anymore on HD2 with latest CM builds but this is not such a big problem, I can live with it.

Strangely, I cannot see in the interface the list of installed user certificates, I see only CA certificates in "Trusted credentials". Also not a big problem, as they can be found in /data/misc/keystore.

But biggest and still unsolved problem for me is that VPN doesnot connect through 3G. It works perfectly through WiFi. No matter PPTP or L2TP. When trying to connect I get immediately message: "There is no network connection. Please, try again later." Everything else is working flawlessly through 3G. It's not a block from the network operator (formerly GLOBUL, now becoming Telenor), because the same VPN connections work with no problems on the same HD2, same SIM, in WinMo 6.5. Can someone help me with this issue? I've searched a lot but have found nothing useful concerning this bug. The only link I stumbled upon is this:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/24180008/android-vpn-always-display-no-network-connection-via-3g, but no answers...

Re: Q&A and Troubleshooting for "NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.2"

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 6:10 pm
by tyr75
Native VPN works fine with 3G, but I found out, that only with RMNET not with PPP!


jdl wrote:Hello,
Congratulations to the author for his outstanding work!
I'm using this ROM for some months (EU HD2, 32GB Sandisk Class 4, NativeSD with HARET), I customised settings enough to be satisfied with the overall performance. The ROM is almost excellent with few small drawbacks.

I understand that >12fps video recording will probably not happen anymore on HD2 with latest CM builds but this is not such a big problem, I can live with it.

Strangely, I cannot see in the interface the list of installed user certificates, I see only CA certificates in "Trusted credentials". Also not a big problem, as they can be found in /data/misc/keystore.

But biggest and still unsolved problem for me is that VPN doesnot connect through 3G. It works perfectly through WiFi. No matter PPTP or L2TP. When trying to connect I get immediately message: "There is no network connection. Please, try again later." Everything else is working flawlessly through 3G. It's not a block from the network operator (formerly GLOBUL, now becoming Telenor), because the same VPN connections work with no problems on the same HD2, same SIM, in WinMo 6.5. Can someone help me with this issue? I've searched a lot but have found nothing useful concerning this bug. The only link I stumbled upon is this:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/24180008/android-vpn-always-display-no-network-connection-via-3g, but no answers...

Re: Q&A and Troubleshooting for "NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.2"

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:10 am
by jdl
Useful hint! Thanks!!
I'm not sure if RMNET can be used with NativeSD, but I'll try. Is there a way to switch from PPP to RMNET without reflashing the ROM? I made a brief test renaming/deleting ppp folder in system/etc but after restart got no 3G data at all and no VPN connection in WiFi mode also.

Re: Q&A and Troubleshooting for "NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.2"

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 12:05 pm
by dkfg471
Hi,

Yes, it's 2015 and I want to use this ROM on an HD2 :)
It's slow to launch anything, but bearable. (using NativeSD on TMO-USA)

Two questions:
1. Under Settings/Display/Themes there is just one theme included with the ROM. Can I somehow get more themes? (I do know how to install another launcher. I'd like to be able to change the settings menu to be black-on-white rather then the opposite and the same for the built-in Phone app. Do not really want third-party Phone apps.)
2. Viber works. (Slow, but works.) However Viber's "Scan QR code" menu launches camera (which it should), shows a lot of green stripes and crashes. Any advice on this? I need to go to this menu in order to enable Viber on two devices at the same time...

Thanks!